"The future ain't what it used to be."

Old timers--what happened to...?

ParallelDreams

Timekeeper
What happened to timetravelportal.com? I believe it was 2006 and tt "Bishop" was the latest time travel claim...after he dropped out of the thread, the site just disappeared not long after (from my remembrance of it). Any insight here?

I have no knowledge of such a person or any claims thereof. Of course, there were many 'claims' being tossed about during that era, none of which I am aware of, with the possible exception of the Titor stories. There does exist some historical evidence that Titor may have been, and I must stress, "may have been", a legitimate scientist and/or theorist/experimentalist in this particular field, mainly due to some historical evidence which suggests some possible early experiments (2030-2076), that may have yielded some valid results. However, keeping in mind that from my perspective, such historical details have been lost, and no current provable evidence of his work, or even his existence, remains. It does appear possible, however, based on his supposed work, that he and his team may well have stumbled upon at least a few key components that are required to initiate some type of manipulations. Perhaps he was aware of the universal constant at that time, but it is not known for certain. Further, if it is assumed that he (or his team) had some knowledge of the necessary requirements involved, it could be plausible that he was at least partially successful within a very limited range, but of course that can not be proven. Currently, the only known model capable of achieving any type of 'time travel' is the Torus Model, and even now, it is quite limited. Curiously, this model seem to exhibit highly defined range limits (or sharp boundaries if you prefer). The reasons for the limitations are not yet known, although several theories do exist (as of 2266). As far as I am aware, no model exists as of 2013 that allows for any type of 'time trave